A chocolate treat product was recalled after it was discovered some bags may contain milk products that were not on the label.
“Kayco, a Bayonne, N.J., company, is recalling their Glicks Dark Chocolate Conettos because (they) may contain undeclared milk,” a release from Kayco published on the Food and Drug Administration website Feb. 21 said.
“People who have an allergy or severe sensitivity to milk run the risk of serious or life-threatening allergic reaction if they consume these products.”
“We immediately informed all retailers who had purchased this lot code about this recall and instructed them to inspect their inventory or remove any potential affected product on their shelves,” said Kayco.
Anyone who has a product with that lot code “may return the product for credit or refund. If a consumer experiences an allergic reaction, they are urged to report to a medical provider,” according to the release.
Kayco is a kosher food company.
“A family-owned business since 1948, our goal has always been and continues to be offering products with the most rigorous kosher standards, highest levels of quality and value,” its website says.
In addition to the potential allergens, the potential mix-up in products could cause someone to inadvertently violate religious dietary rules.
Kosher foods that do not contain meat or dairy are labeled as “pareve.” The Glicks Dark Chocolate Conettos are certified as “pareve,” and the Glicks Milk Chocolate Conettos are “dairy.”
The post Popular treat products recalled due to undeclared ingredient appeared first on Fox News.